The Deming Prize

The Deming Prize is an annual award presented to an organization that has implemented TQM suitable for its management philosophy, scope/type/scale of business, and management environment. Regardless of the types of business, any organization can apply for the Prize under certain conditions, be it public or private, large or small, domestic or overseas, or part of or entire organization. There is no limit to the number of potential recipients of the Prize each year. All organizations that score the passing points or higher upon examination will be awarded the Deming Prize. However, the organizations wishing to apply for the Deming Prize must carry out the TQM Diagnosis by the Deming Prize Committee no later than one year prior to the year of application. Please refer to “TQM Diagnosis by the Deming Prize Committee” for information.

Organizations Qualified for Receiving the Deming Prize
The Deming Prize is given to applicant organizations that realize the following three particulars by means of TQM.

Under clear management policies that reflect its management principles, industry, business, scope and business environment, the company has established proactive customer driven business objectives and strategies based on social responsibility of the organization. And the top management exhibits leadership in their formulation.
TQM is being suitably utilized and implemented for the realization of business objectives and strategies mentioned under A) above.
As a result of B), along with achieving effect regarding business objectives and strategies of A) above, organizational ability required for future growth has been secured.
More specifically, the following criteria are used for the examination to determine whether or not the applicant organizations should be awarded the Prize:
How to Apply for the Deming Prize

—Due date: February 20th
The application form must be completed and submitted with necessary documents as well as the application fee.
The application deadline is February 20th.


The Deming Prize Examination Committee examines and selects the candidates for the Prize.
A document examination will be carried out based on the Description of TQM Practices submitted by the applicant organization. If the applicant organization passes the document examination, an on-site examination will be conducted. The Committee makes judgment according to the evaluation criteria and reports the results to the Deming Prize Committee.
The examination process is not open to the public, and all possible measures are taken to ensure the confidentiality of applicant organizations.

Determination of the Winners

—Mid October
According to the report by the Committee, the Deming Prize Committee determines the winners of the Prize and notifies them.
In the event that the applicant has not attained passing points, final judgment is reserved and, unless the applicant requests withdrawal, the status is considered as “continued examination.” Subsequent examinations are limited to twice during the next three years.

Announcement of the winners

—Mid October
After the Prize winners have been determined by the Deming Prize Committee as mentioned above, the winners are announced through the proper JUSE publication media with the reasons for receiving the Prize.

Award Ceremony

—Mid November
The winners receive the Deming Medal with an accompanying Certificate of Merit from the Deming Prize Committee. The winners also receive a written report on the examination findings (including recommendations for future improvement of their TQM activities.)

Winners Presentations by Prize Winners

The Winners Presentations will take place after the award ceremony.

Status Report and Post-Prize Review Three Years after Receiving the Prize

The prize winner is requested to submit a short report on the status of its TQM practices three years after having received the prize. As a rule, post-prize review for about one-day will be conducted based on the report.

In lieu of this review, the prize winner may also choose the following to further promote and develop its TQM:
1) To receive TQM Diagnosis by the Deming Prize Committee Members.
2) To receive the examination for the Deming Grand Prize (former Japan Quality Medal). (the TQM diagnosis by the Deming Prize Committee is mandatory at least one year prior to your desired year of application.)
As for the details, please contact the Secretariat for the Deming Prize Committee.


For more detailed information about the application procedures and the examination criteria, please refer to “The Application Guide for the Deming Prize the Deming Grand Prize”.